In the course of history they were used by medieval noblemen and Turkish beys, and in Austro-Hungarian Empire, during the reign of the Empress Maria Therese they, like the rest of the estates in this area, belonged to the CountAntun Janković (1765). He had some new pools and facilities built so the spa became a recreation centre for the Austro-Hungarian aristocracy.
Since those distant times Daruvarske toplice have remained a well known health resort where one can relax, recreate and rehabilitate. Special Medical Rehabilitation Clinic is best known for treatments for rheumatism and female diseases. In the spa there are several thermal springs (temperatures from 39° to 47°C) that are used in treatments along with the mineral mud, which is particularly effective as natural cure for fertility issues.
The famous Julijev Park
forms part of Daruvarske toplice. It houses the sculpture of a crane -„Ždral“ (symbol of the town of Daruvar) and a statue of a bathing girl - „Kupačica“. A particular attraction is an ancient Gingko tree
which is the only protected natural heritage in Bjelovarsko-bilogorska County. This tree is the oldest and the largest in Croatia, second largest in Europe and one of the ten of the oldest Ginkgo trees in the world.
The bronze sculpture „Kupačica“ or „Nude Maya“ as the locals of Daruvar nicknamed it, is one of the earliest pieces by a famous sculptor Antun Augustinčić
(from 1927) that was placed in Daruvarske toplice in 1956 as symbol of female fertility.
The story says that it was purchased for a very small price from the artist's studio in Klanjec by the city officials: it was found discarded, lying in a backyard corner so they decided to give it a proper home. At the beginning of 2012 „Kupačica“ was stolen, but luckily it was found quite soon though damaged: it was cut into 13 pieces by a cold saw (the thieves intended to sell the parts at the illegal metal market). Fortunately, experts from the foundry shop at the Academy of Fine Arts in Zagreb managed to restore it completely so a few months later it was returned to its spot and thus remains one of the best recognized symbols of Daruvarske toplice and the town of Daruvar.